events

The Lego Movie - A Sensory Friendly Showing

ASMC is partnering with Wehrenberg Galaxy 14 to present a sensory friendly showing of The Lego Movie. The lights are brought up and sound is turned down. It’s OK if people need to get up and move around or talk.

Download the attached coloring pages for the kids. Color them, scan them, and then email us (or give them to us at the movie) and we'll post them on our Facebook page.
 
We will also be giving away two lego sets, one for a girl and one for a boy. The kids will be handed a ticket when they arrive.

The movie starts at 11:00 AM, but please be there by 10:30 AM.

All families who have children and adults with autism welcome. 

The movie is free for ASMC members and $5.50 for non-members. Learn more about joining ASMC as a member.

Please register here: http://autismmclean.org/civicrm/event/register?reset=1&id=3.

We are looking forward to a great turn out!

Where: 
Wehrenberg Galaxy 14, 1111 Wylie Drive, Bloomington, IL 61701
Date/Time: 
Saturday, February 22, 2014 - 10:30am
Cost: 
The movie is free for ASMC members and $5.50 for non-members

Spectrum Dance - For Children with Autism

We are pleased to announce our first dance class for individuals with autism!

A hands-on approach encouraging social interactions, fun, and exercise through music and movement.

Both boys and girls are welcome. Ages 5+

$10 covers all four classes and includes a t-shirt and bracelet.

Please register here: http://autismmclean.org/civicrm/event/register?reset=1&id=4.

Where: 
Jazzercize, 1531 Fort Jesse Rd, Normal, IL 61761
Date/Time: 
Saturday, March 1, 2014 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Saturday, March 8, 2014 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Saturday, March 15, 2014 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Saturday, March 22, 2014 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Cost: 
$10 per child for the four week session

ASMC Parent Support Cafe - February

Cafe's are for parents of children with ASD, learning difference, and other special needs. Come join other family members to share your knowledge and problem solve through round table discussions. This month's topic: open discussion.

Childcare provided by ISU's SSID at Skill Sprouts. Trainings and discussion will be facilitated by Illinois Autism Training and Technical Assistance Project.

RSVP to Jacquie via email or at 309-824-4555 so as to ensure proper coverage.

Please see the attached flyer for more information.

Sponsored by the Autism Society of McLean County and Illinois Autism Training and Technical Assistance Project.

Where: 
706 Oglesby Ave., Normal, IL, 61761, Conference Room 104 (between TAP and Skill Sprouts)
Date/Time: 
Tuesday, February 18, 2014 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm

SSID Valentine's Day Party

SSID is having a Valentine's Day Party for ASMC. There will be pizza, games and crafts! All ages are welcome! 

Please RSVP by 2/10/14 to mcgolds@ilstu.edu.

SSID is a student organization at ISU that focuses on providing volunteer opportunities for students to work with individuals with disabilities.

Where: 
The Autism Place, 706 Oglesby, Normal, IL, 61761
Date/Time: 
Saturday, February 15, 2014 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm

Say Something with Music - A Music Therapy Group to Enhance Social Skills and Communication

Music Therapy is an effective and enjoyable way to capture the attention and interest of participants of a variety of ages. It is an interactive process that promote communication and social skills and learning. Children will participate in music making experiences including, but not limited to, movement, song writing, interactive instrument and ensemble play and relaxation strategies, that focus on each child’s strengths and targets their needs.

Currently, we are offering this group for children 6 to 8 years of age who are looking for ways to enhance communication and social skills. Sessions will be limited to 6 children with a minimum of 4 children in order to move forward with the session.

Sessions will take place at the Lincoln Leisure Center, located in Bloomington, IL. Directions will be provided upon registration completion. In addition, you will receive a Music Therapy Group Checklist to fill out, which will provide the therapist with information about your child that will be necessary in order to provide the most effective music therapy experience!

http://developingmelodies.com/musictherapy/say-something-with-music/

Where: 
Lincoln Leisure Center, 1206 S Lee St, Bloomington, IL 61701
Date/Time: 
Tuesday, February 11, 2014 - 4:30pm to 5:15pm
Tuesday, February 18, 2014 - 4:30pm to 5:15pm
Tuesday, February 25, 2014 - 4:30pm to 5:15pm
Tuesday, March 4, 2014 - 4:30pm to 5:15pm
Tuesday, March 11, 2014 - 4:30pm to 5:15pm
Tuesday, March 18, 2014 - 4:30pm to 5:15pm
Cost: 
$120

Sibshop's Fun, Food, and Friends in February

For children ages 7‐14 who have a sibling with special needs. Sibshops provide a fun and safe place for siblings to meet other children in the same situation, share experiences, feelings, and discuss joys and challenges. Class size limit is 20.

Participants must register by Feburary 4th. Register below.

For additional information, contact Jacquie Mace at mace.jacquie@comcast.net or 309‐824‐4555.

In the event that we do not have enough children registered for a group, Sibshops will be canceled for that month.

Sponsored By Illinois Autism Training & Technical Assistance Project The Autism Society of McLean County.

Where: 
Jazzercise, 1531 Fort Jesse Rd, Normal, IL, 61761
Date/Time: 
Saturday, February 8, 2014 - 1:30pm to 3:30pm
Cost: 
Free

Wings and Prayers Ministry

Dear Friends,

I hope this email finds you warm and rejoicing in the stillness winter brings. The next Wings and Prayers Differently Abled Ecumenical Service will be meeting this Sunday, January 19th at 3pm at Crossroads Chapel – 1049 JC Parkway, Bloomington, IL. We would love to see you there. Light refreshments will be provided following the worship service.

One of our new flyers is attached. Please feel free to post and to pass it on to others who may be interested. You may contact Rev. Cheree’ Johnson (309) 706-2961 or Rev. Mary Armstrong-Reiner (309) 212-0888 with questions or for more information.

Hope to see you there.

Where: 
Crossroads Chapel, 1049 JC Parkway, Bloomington, IL
Date/Time: 
Sunday, January 19, 2014 - 3:00pm to 3:45pm

Rising Star Open Gym

Our play group was created to give our children with autism and their typical siblings a place where they could be free to be themselves, play, and get to know each other. Rising Star Academy generously allows us to use their facilities. The accommodations are wonderful; they include 3 trampolines (2 are in floor), a very large foam pit, padded floors, soft sided climbing structures and numerous toys.

*We require one parent to stay while the children are playing.

Where: 
Rising Star Academy, 2902 Gill Street, Bloomington, IL
Date/Time: 
Saturday, January 18, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, January 25, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, February 1, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, February 8, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, February 15, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, February 22, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, March 1, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, March 8, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, March 15, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, March 22, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, March 29, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, April 5, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, April 12, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, April 19, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, April 26, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, May 3, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, May 10, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, May 17, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, May 31, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, June 7, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, June 14, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, June 21, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, June 28, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, July 5, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, July 12, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, July 19, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, July 26, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, August 2, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, August 9, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, August 16, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, August 23, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, August 30, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, September 6, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, September 13, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, September 20, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, September 27, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, October 4, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, October 11, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, October 18, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, October 25, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, November 1, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, November 8, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, November 15, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, November 22, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, November 29, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, December 6, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, December 13, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, December 20, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, December 27, 2014 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, January 3, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, January 10, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, January 17, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, January 24, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, January 31, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, February 7, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, February 14, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, February 21, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, February 28, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, March 7, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, March 14, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, March 21, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, March 28, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, April 4, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, April 11, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, April 18, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, April 25, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, May 2, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, May 9, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, May 16, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, May 23, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Saturday, May 30, 2015 - 11:30am to 12:30pm
Cost: 
$5.00 per child

Winter Swim Event at YMCA

It's cold outside, so you know what that means...get out your swimsuit and goggles. What?

That's right - meet us at the YMCA pool on Saturday, January 18, from 6:00-8:00. Bring your swimsuit and towel.

Where: 
Bloomington-Normal YMCA, 602 S. Main Street, Bloomington, IL, 61701
Date/Time: 
Saturday, January 18, 2014 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Cost: 
Free
Tags:

Autism Awareness Month

Everyone knows someone with autism

The most recent statistic from the Center for Disease Control and Prevention states that 1 in 88 children have autism. That staggering statistic emphasizes how important it is that the central Illinois community becomes aware of the difficulties of living with autism. The Autism Society of McLean County provides imperative programming to people of all ages living with autism and families whose lives are affected by autism.

April is Autism Awareness month and the Autism Society of McLean County (ASMC) has planned a month packed full of events to raise awareness about autism.

About the Autism Society of McLean County 

The Autism Society of McLean County is an all volunteer based group that strives to educate the central Illinois area about autism and fund programs that better the lives of individuals and families of those with autism. For more information, contact info@autismmclean.org.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - events