An Instructional Contra Dance Series

What is Contra Dancing? It has been in the USA since the 1700’s. People walk in repeating patterns to folk music. A caller first explains the movements and tells you what pattern to do.

When: Third Thursday of each month

Where: Normal Public Library (in the basement)

Time: 6:30 – 7:30 pm

Who: The whole family (you don’t have to dance – come visit too)

How is it Autism Friendly? Contra dancing is a wonderful opportunity to be around others. It is easily accommodated for people with ASD or other social/sensory issues. So you can participate without needing to talk, touch or make eye contact, unless you want to.

Do I have to bring a date? NO! But you will need a dance partner – that can be anyone on the dance floor – we are trying to have some student volunteers there to be partners, but parents, friends, and siblings can be partners too

This is a planned monthly get-together for people on the autism spectrum, their family, mentors, and friends.

More information can be found on the Normal Public Library website.

Where: 
Normal Public Library 206 W. College Ave. Normal , IL 61761
Date/Time: 
Thursday, August 16, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, November 15, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, December 20, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, January 17, 2019 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, February 21, 2019 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, March 21, 2019 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, April 18, 2019 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, May 16, 2019 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, June 20, 2019 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Thursday, July 18, 2019 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm